Mahayana Buddhism teaches of the Six Paramitas, a fundamental concept for transcending the mind from suffering to enlightenment. Paramita is a Sanskrit word which can be translated to mean “perfect realization” and when translated from the Chinese characters it means “crossing over to the other shore”.  We all may experience standing on the shore of suffering, anger, and despair, but practicing the Paramitas evokes a choice and mental shift to overcome our pains and cross over to the other shore of joy, non-fear, peace and liberation.  To practice the Paramitas and “cross over to the other shore” does not take years of study, it is a practice of good virtues anyone can do in their daily life so they may enjoy happiness and well-being now.  How do we make the journey from the land of sorrow to the land of joy?  Thich Nhat Hanh shares the Buddha says “don’t hope for the other shore to come to you. If you want to cross over to the other shore, the shore of safety, well-being, non-fear, and non-anger, you have to swim or row across. You have to make an effort.” This effort is the practice of the Six Paramitas. Every time you make the effort of a mindful step you have the chance to go from the land of sorrow across the river to the land of joy. Below are the Six Paramitas:
  1. dana paramita - generosity
  2. shila paramita - discipline
  3. kshanti paramita - inclusiveness
  4. virya paramita - diligence
  5. dhyana paramita - meditation
  6. prajña paramita - understanding
Practicing the 6 Paramitas helps us to reach the other shore - the shore of freedom, harmony, and good relationships.  Begin your mental shift journey to the other shore by using the mantra below (which is known as the heart calming mantra). You may add it to your meditation or when you are taking mindful breaths during the day to help reset the mind from mental pains to relief, peace and liberation.  Gate Gate Para Gate Para Samgate Bodhi Svaha Gate Gate Which means gone gone, gone from suffering to the liberation of suffering, gone from forgetfulness to mindfulness, gone from duality to non-duality. Gone all the way to the other shore.  Para Samgate - means everyone, the entire community of beings, everyone gone over to the other shore.  Bodhi - the light inside, enlightenment or awakening, you see it and the vision of reality liberates you.  And Svaha is a cry of joy or excitement. Hooray! So we can receive the strength from the sutra. We bring ourselves into the state of attention and concentration. This helps us transform to liberation.  Gate Gate Para Gate Para Samgate Bodhisvaha! Gone, gone, gone to the other shore beyond, O what an awakening, all hail! By Kohai Dianne Hadad 3rd Degree Black Belt, Renge Dojo Mindset Coach, CPC, Warrior Spirit Circle 647-203-4882 | The WARRIOR SPIRIT CIRCLE creates conversations for kids, parents and martial artists to discover their true self and embody their warrior spirit. Our mission is to share the practical wisdom from the classical martial arts virtues and philosophies to inspirit resiliency, confidence and vibrancy.