Most Recent Posts

Featured Image Placeholder

Introduction to Chakras From "Chakras for beginners" 4

Awakening the Centres

The Tibetan suggests the following requirements:statue of Buddha

1. Character building

This may seem to be a dull and unexciting requirement. However, all spiritual movement takes place within the framework of ordinary life. This first requirement reminds us that awakening the chakras brings additional responsibilities and personal challenges. Only the rounded out personality will persevere and seriously undertake the work of shifting the focus of being to anew centre.

2. Right motive

The formerly closed nature of esoteric traditions was designed in part to ensure that right motive was fostered within the student-teacher relationship. The developing of right motive acts as a stabilizing force against the inflation of ego which happens all too easily.

3. Service

This is an active extension of right motive. Awakening the chakras brings an increased sense of connectivity to the whole, which finds its natural expression through service to others.

4. Meditation

This is a key inner discipline which develops sensitivities, awakens aspirations and centres the life on a spiritual note. A specialised programme of chakra meditation can only take place when meditation itself has been mastered and integrated.

5. A technical study of the science of the centres

The first four requirements prepare the individual in life and character to begin the next phase of personal work by absorbing the intellectual knowledge which is relevant to becoming conscious of the chakras.

6. Breathing exercises

The subtle energies are highly sensitive and responsive to the directed breath. Every tradition offers its own exercises in breath control. Pranayama is a complete science itself. These techniques are best learned from an experienced spiritual teacher.

7. Learning the technique of the will

This seventh requirement serves to anchor the spiritual intent generated by the first. The unfolding blueprint brings many difficult challenges which can only be surmounted by the determined.

8. The development of the power to employ time

This requirement once again places the onus on the student and serves to remind us that increased responsibilities require a reorganised life in which no opportunities are lost.

9. The arousing of the Kundalini fire

It would be wrong to introduce the chakras individually without at the same time introducing the chakras as a unity .It is a mistake to approach the seven chakras as If they were separate. The chakras are each connected one to another via the Sushumna, the subtle current within the spine. The base chakra and the crown chakra may be regarded as the two poles of magnetic force. When the intervening chakras have been sufficiently awakened and purified, the way is clear for the forces of matter and spirit to unite. The rising energies follow a curved serpentine pathway. The awakening of Kundalini, the flowering of all seven lotuses, brings mystical or cosmic consciousness.


The question now arises: How can this awakening and co-ordination be brought about?

-The Tibetan

Featured Image Placeholder

WARRIOR SPIRIT CIRCLE The Four Noble Truths Series — Noble Truth #4: 

The Way out of Suffering

Over the last weeks we have been discussing the 4 NOBLE TRUTHS; a core concept of the martial arts training and of life.

Recap of the Four Noble Truths:

1st Truth - There is Suffering, it exists and we cannot run from it. There is suffering because things in life are always changing and therefore all things are impermanent. Impermanence, is the principle that in every part of life, all things evolve and truly these changes cannot be controlled by us.

2nd Truth - There is Cause or Origin of Suffering - It is not enough to just know what the pains or challenge are of a situation, we must also understand the root cause of this suffering. 

3rd Truth - The Cessation of Suffering - There is an end of Suffering. The third truth is a liberation one experiences when they let go of their suffering. This happens when one can release from their desire to hold on to what is causing their suffering.

4th Truth - The Way out of Suffering — There is a path out of Suffering. The way out of suffering is through the Eightfold Path, which gives way for happiness, virtue and nirvana. Happiness is a mental state where you detach from all the passions, needs, wants and free yourself and achieve a state where you go beyond your ordinary limitations and experience bliss/great joy and well-being.

Virtue is moral excellence. A foundation of principles of good moral being. 

Nirvana is an awakening, the cessation of all suffering, the removal of wrong perceptions we have in life, can be translated as freedom, freedom from views.

The fourth truth acknowledges a “way out” of the suffering, it gives us permission to leave the pains of the past and take the lessons with us. The Eightfold Path is the way to enlightenment. 

In our training, the Eightfold Path embodies what we as martial artists strive for. Since our first days as a white belt onward, all of these elements have been embedded in the training: in our martial arts mindset, our intention, our effort, our action/behaviour, our mindfulness and meditation and our concentration and focus.

By Kohai Dianne Hadad
3rd Degree Black Belt, Renge Dojo
Certified Professional Coach, Warrior Spirit Circle
647-203-4882 |

The WARRIOR SPIRIT CIRCLE creates conversations for kids, parents and martial artists to discover their true self and embody their warrior spirit. Our mission is to share the practical wisdom from the classical martial arts virtues and philosophies to inspirit resiliency, confidence and vibrancy.